Can Green Day Make Twilight: Breaking Dawn Part 2 Tolerable With New Ballad “The Forgotten?”

On November 16th, legions of women will once again file into theaters across this great land of ours to soak in the latest installment of the Twilight Saga.

For the few men that get dragged, kicking and screaming, into Breaking Dawn Part 2, there may be something for them, a silver lining, a glimmer of hope… In addition to the frozen Snickers and giants buckets to popcorn often used to soak up the embarrassment, there is a songs that may give the film some man-cred, albeit just a smidgeon. Sorry, make that microscopic.

Green Day has contributed a song from the upcoming album ¡Tre! to the film’s soundtrack.

The Bay Area pop-punk band has signed over what could be their sappiest tune to the vampire franchise. Not since “Time of Your Life” has Green Day had so much potential to make their female fans weep. The piano driven, heavily orchestrated, five-minute tune boasts an infectious chorus likely find its way onto your mom’s iPod.

So, for male Green Day fans, “The Forgotten” is a mixed bag. On one hand, you’ll be able to say your girlfriend likes Green Day. On the other hand, you’ll be able to say your girlfriend likes Green Day.

The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn – Part 2 tracklisting:

1. Where I Come From – Passion Pit
2. Bittersweet – Ellie Goulding
3. The Forgotten – Green Day
4. Fire In The Water – Feist
5. Everything And Nothing – The Boom Circuits
6. The Antidote – St. Vincent
7. Speak Up – POP ETC
8. Heart of Stone – Iko
9. Cover Your Tracks – A Boy And His Kite
10. Ghosts – James Vincent McMorrow
11. All I’ve Ever Needed – Paul McDonald & Nikki Reed
12. New For You – Reeve Carney
13. A Thousand Years (Part 2) feat. Steve Kazee – Christina Perri
14. Plus Que Ma Propre Vie – Carter Burwell

The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 2 soundtrack hits stores November 13th.

Meanwhile, Green Day recently announced all remaining 2012 and early 2013 tour dates and promo appearances have been canceled to allow time for frontman Billie Joe Armstrong to complete his rehabilitation. The band’s camp have also accelerated the release of the final installment of the ¡Uno! ¡Dos! ¡Tre! trilogy with ¡Tre!’ moving from January 13, 2012 to December 11, 2012.

— Jay Tilles, CBS Local


One Comment

  1. Bob Watkins says:

    But what is going to make new Green Day tolerable?

  2. Kenzy says:

    Ok lets be honest, peolpe sit here all day n try to convince every1 that there the next big thing. yet all they do is spit verses on a few beats. well the difference with me is, i have all the talent, i jus need peolpe 2 see it, go on my page n check my videos. i create the beats and i sing AND rap to my songs. i could b the next big thing i just hope peolpe can take the time to make my dreams come true, keep in mind my music is a work in progress, check out my channel u just might like´╗┐ it.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From HFS at 104.9 - Baltimore's Rock Alternative

HFS Contests!
Sign Up!
Get Started Now

Listen Live