"These guys had to show me the chords again"
Click to play

Click to play

Grouplove’s Christian Zucconi, who handles the male half of the group’s locals, explained in an interview that the band’s breakout single “Tongue Tied” got off to a rocky start.

Zucconi explained that he was traveling along on his bicycle, with no hands, and proceeded to hit a stick sending him over the handlebars, resulting in a concussion.

During the next rehearsal, his bandmates suggested they try out his “Tongue Tied” song idea. Unfortunately, due to memory loss caused by the concussion, Zucconi had no idea what they were talking about. He had no idea he’d written a potential hit. “These guys had to show me the chords again,” recalls Zucconi. Drummer Ryan Rabin chuckles as he explains, “We went in the studio and do that “Tongue Tied” idea you had and he was like, ‘What are you talking about?'”

The Southern California five-piece band has been rapidly rising up the charts which has resulted in their music being chosen as the soundtrack to TV shows and commercials.

Creators of HBO hit series Girls recently announced Fueled by Ramen Records would release the show’s official soundtrack. Among the all-star line-up of indie bands is Grouplove’s “Everyone’s Gonna Get High,” available exclusively on the soundtrack. Girls’ creator Lena Dunham said in a press release, “Music supervisor Manish Raval and I are crazy about everything from the pop that teen girls devour to the niche indie rock from days of yore.” Girls – Volume 1 soundtrack hits stories January 8th.

Girls – Volume 1: Music From The HBO Original Series

  1. Robyn – Dancing On My Own
  2. fun. – Sight Of The Sun *
  3. Harper Simon – Wishes And Stars
  4. Santigold – Girls *
  5. White Sea – Overdrawn
  6. Grouplove – Everyone’s Gonna Get High *
  7. Icona Pop – I Love It
  8. The Echo-Friendly – Same Mistakes
  9. Belle & Sebastian – I Don’t Love Anyone
  10. Fleet Foxes – Montezuma
  11. Oh Land – White Nights
  12. The Vaccines – Wreckin’ Bar (Ra Ra Ra)
  13. Lia Ices – Love Is Won
  14. Michael Penn – On Your Way *

*Exclusive tracks

Girls’ season 2 premieres January 13th on HBO while Group Love’s latest release Never Trust A Happy Song is available now.

— Jay Tilles, CBS Local


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From HFS at 104.9 - Baltimore's Rock Alternative

HFS Contests!
Sign Up!
Get Started Now

Listen Live