MGMT To Release New Self-Titled Album This September

After spending months at a makeshift recording studio set up in a cabin outside of Buffalo, N.Y., MGMT has emerged with the band’s third full-length album, a self-titled collection scheduled for release on September 17 from Columbia Records.

Unlike the band’s polarizing second album Congratulations, which was made with a full band, the new album was recorded entirely by core members Ben Goldwasser and Andrew VanWyngarden, much like MGMT’s highly regarded debut, Oracular Spectacular, which includes the hits “Kids” and “Electric Feel.”

“We’re not trying to make music that everyone understands the first time they hear it,” Goldwasser told Rolling Stone back in January of this year, stating that the new music is influenced by house music and experimental electronic artist Aphex Twin.

Among the new songs is first single “Alien Days,” which debuted on a special cassette release for Record Store Day 2013. There is also a cover of obscure ‘60s garage rockers Faine Jade’s song “Introspection.”

Get the track list and tour schedule on


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From HFS at 104.9 - Baltimore's Rock Alternative

HFS Contests!
Sign Up!
Get Started Now

Listen Live