By Jeremy D. Larson

Coldplay have just officially announced their new album entitled Ghost Stories, due out May 19 via Parlophone. This is the band’s sixth album, which follows 2011′s record-turned comic book, Mylo Xyloto.

Also out of the ether, the band let loose the first single from the album, a song called “Magic”. You can download the sweetly new song, the one little bit of R&B swing to it called “Magic” on iTunes right now.

Related: 5 Directions Coldplay Could Go On Their Next Album

Below are the artwork and the tracklisting for the album, which includes their previously released song, the Bon Iver-sounding “Midnight”. For the new track, it’s decidedly more in Coldplay’s wheelhouse, even using a tinny Roland drum machine for parts of it to jive with where pop rock is right now. It’s more like the Chris Martin we know, the one who will buy some Banksy heart-balloon art. He didn’t use it as the album art, but it’s close.

Coldplay will perform at the iTunes Festival at SXSW in Austin, TX on March 11.

See the track list and cover art for the new album on



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From HFS at 104.9 - Baltimore's Rock Alternative

HFS Contests!
Sign Up!
Get Started Now

Listen Live